Merry Christmas From Conservance

by Handsome Matt


Merry Christmas to all!

A combination of holiday parties, Christmas shopping, spending time with my beautiful girlfriend, AND a wedding, has cut into my writing time. But in a manner that I would never pass up. Never let work get in the way of friends and family. There will always be more work tomorrow, somethings will never be done today. Besides there have been plenty of 10, 12, 14, even a few 20 hour work days this year. And just as many next year.

Today I saw two interesting things: Firstly, a set of “green” holiday cards. And did they ever look it. IT was an incredibly cool design though, but it looked like they just printed it on cardboard. The great design was lost in the attempt to look “environmentally friendly.” If no one buys it, then the mission and message have failed. The coolest thing about it, beyond the design, was that the plant was powered by wind energy. And the plant was located in Virginia! Not the wind capital of the world by any stretch of the imagination.

Second on the list. I was wrapping all of my presents I bought this evening. Yes I was using paper and cardboard boxes and packages, ribbons, and bags!  As I was getting the box ready for my dad’s sweater, I happened to notice that on the inside of this box was a message:

“Please recycle. This box is recyclable and was made from recycled materials. It can be used again.”

I had no idea! The box looked like every other gift box we had, and yet here is a treasure! A recyclable and reusable box made from recycled material? It must be Christmas indeed! And beyond that, it was a well designed box. Easy to construct, pack, and wrap. I was in design heaven.

Whoever okayed that design at Kohls is a genius!

Again, Merry Christmas to all!

And a little fun Christmas rant:

