Brown is the New Green

by Handsome Matt


I love “Dirty Jobs.” Mike Rowe is absolutely hilarious. When it comes to comedy, for whatever reason my weakness is dry humor.

But this Saturday I briefly caught the episode “Brown Before Green.” I say briefly because I had to leave to coach an elementary basketball game (My official record in elementary basketball 1-21. I blame the salary caps of the league).

But, I got to see some of the highlights, and I have to agree: Brown is green.

Brown

Mike Rowe makes the argument that brown means work and being “green” takes work. He’s right, I’ve said it before as well: To be environmentally responsible takes work.

He even interviewed himself for Men’s Health to explain his position.

  • So you’re sympathetic to the cause, but critical of what exactly – the execution?
  • If we’re talking about the importance of cleaning up after ourselves and leaving a light footprint, I’m all for it. But really, I’m tired of being lectured by people who care more for the planet than the people on it. There’s a lot of “inconvenient truth” in the environmental movement, and a ton of manipulation. That leads to hypocrisy and opportunism. Mainly though, I’m just appalled by their choice of color. I mean seriously – green? What were they thinking?

Full Interview Here

It’s true, the environmental movement is full of guilt and hypocrisy, which is why I’ve tried to steer clear of the term “green.” As I’ve said elsewhere, I want ideas and solutions that work in the real world, and I’m for efficiently using our resources. But much of what is toted as environmental or “green” isn’t that impressive. Hybrids for instance: I can get comparable mpg with a 1995 Nissan 240SX with a bit of work and some self control.

Mike Rowe goes onto say that there are millions of people who would consider themselves environmentally conscious, have been turned off by the marketing of the movement.

Brown before Green.

Let’s start actually doing some work for the environment. For our communities, neighbors and friends. Instead of only changing our lightbulbs and feeling good about ourself, let’s start cleaning up. The rewards of a hard days work and a job accomplished are much more rewarding than changing a lightbulb (unless of course your job IS to change lightbulbs). Furthermore banding together with neighbors to “brown” your community creates: community, of all things.

Get out there, roll up your sleeves and go brown!

